Our Structure

The Western Trust is one of five Health and Social Care (HSC) Trusts in Northern Ireland which provide health and social services across Northern Ireland.

Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland

In England, Scotland and Wales the National Health Service (NHS) provides healthcare services while local councils provide social care services. In Northern Ireland these services are combined under what is known as Health and Social Care (HSC).

The Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS) carries overall responsibility to the Northern Ireland Assembly for the provision of health and social care services in Northern Ireland. The DHSSPS develops policy and legislation guiding hospitals, family practitioner services and community health and personal social services. The DHSSPS also sets Priorities for Action, key target areas for each of the Trusts to achieve each year to improve health and social care services to benefit patients and other service users across the full spectrum of HSC programmes of care.

The Health and Social Care Board commissions the Trusts to provide services. The Board also manages resources allocated by the DHSSPS and is involved in performance improvement and management.

The Health and Social Care Board has Local Commissioning Groups (LCGs) who are responsible for the commissioning of health and social care by addressing the care needs of their local population. They also have responsibility for assessing health and social care needs; planning health and social care to meet current and emerging needs; and securing the delivery of health and social care to meet assessed needs.

The Western Trust is managed by a Trust Board that consists of the Chairman, the Chief Executive, seven non-executive directors and ten directors. The Trust Board makes the major high-level decisions including agreeing the priorities for the Trust, reviewing performance and outcomes, and making sure that the highest standards of governance and personal conduct are in place and are maintained.

The Health Minister appoints the Chairman and non-executive directors who work on a part-time sessional basis. The Chief Executive and Directors are paid employees of the Trust.

Western Trust services are delivered by four directorates:

  • Acute Services
  • Adult Mental Health and Disability Services
  • Primary Care and Older People's Services
  • Women and Children's Services

These service directorates are assisted by support directorates:

  • Chief Executive's Office
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • Medical Directorate
  • Performance and Service Improvement
  • Strategic Capital Development

A number of other key groups assist with various aspects of management of the Trust and with service delivery. Go to the How we make decisions page to find out more.

You can also find out more about the Western Trust structures below each Directorate.